The Blue Flag is a trademark owned by FEE which is a not-for-profit non-governmental organisation consisting of 65 organisations in 60 member countries.

FEE’s Blue Flag criteria include standards for quality, safety, environmental education and information, the provision of services and general environmental management criteria.

The Blue Flag is sought for beaches, marinas, and sustainable boating tourism operators as an indication of their high environmental and quality standards.

Certificates, which FEE refers to as awards, are issued on an annual basis to beaches and marinas of it’s member countries. 

In the European Union, the water quality standards are incorporated in the EC Water Framework Directive.

Spain has held the 1st position for nearly three decades since the awards began in 1987.

Take a look through the 17 Blu Flag beaches in the Marina Alta for 2019. 

Javea’s Three Awards

  • L’Arenal,
  • El Gravel
  • La Granadella

Denia’s Six Awards

  • Les Bovetes
  • Les Marines
  • Molins
  • Punta Raset
  • Marineta Casiana ( With Special Disabled Bathing Facilities)
  • The Deveses

Teulada/Moriara’s Three Awards

  • El Portet,
  • L’Ampolla
  • Les Platgetes

Calpe’s Three Awards

  • La Fossa,
  • Cantal Roig
  • Arenal Bol


  • Cala Fustera
Cala Fustera


  • Cala Moraig

Cala Moraig

We would like to thank Frank Bowerman from Costa Blanca Digital who has posted many of these wonderful photographs on the Javea Connect group over the years.